Meaning and Types of Vegetarian Diet
There are three main reasons why someone might choose to follow some variation of a vegetarian or plant-based diet. These are related to personal and public health, the environment, and the animals raised for food. Studies have found that animal products, especially those produced in large-scale are likely to contain unwanted substances, such as antibiotics. Most people choose to adopt some form of a vegetarian or plant-based diet due to health, environmental, or ethical reasons. Below are 4 types of vegetarian diet.
1. Lacto-ovo Vegetarian Diet
Some people think of a lacto-ovo-vegetarian diet as the most traditional vegetarian diet. In this variation, you wouldn’t eat meat or fish, but would still include eggs and dairy products in your diet. Following a lacto-ovo-vegetarian diet means including eggs, milk, cheese, butter, yogurt, sour cream, ice cream, and other dairy products in your diet, while excluding all animal derived meats, such as beef, fish, chicken, and pork.
2. Ovo-Vegetarian Diet
An ovo-vegetarian diet doesn’t include dairy products, but does incorporate eggs, as the “ovo” prefix indicates. In addition to excluding meat and fish, an ovo-vegetarian diet excludes all dairy products and foods made using them, such as cow’s milk, cheese, butter, sour cream, yogurt, and ice cream. Someone on an ovo-vegetarian diet would include eggs and egg dishes, like scrambled eggs, hard-boiled eggs, and omelets.
3. Flexitarian Diet
A flexitarian wouldn’t technically be considered a vegetarian because they eat small amounts of meat sometimes. It’s up to the individual to design the diet to fit their lifestyle. A flexitarian diet is designed to be more flexible than a strict vegan or vegetarian diet. It takes a primarily plant-focused approach to eating, but includes some meat and other animal products, like eggs and dairy.
4. Vegan Diet
A vegan diet is one that excludes all animal derived products, including all meats and fish, dairy products, and eggs. Some people on a vegan diet also choose to exclude honey because it’s produced by bees. A vegan diet is based solely on plant foods. This includes fruits, vegetables, grains, nuts, seeds, and legumes, including beans, peas, and lentils.